It’s only funny because it’s true.

I have found the perfect excuse.

Two days ago a woman from my church in Grand Rapids called  to see if I would be interested in helping out with children’s church for the summer.  As much as I would love to spend every other other Sunday morning corralling excited pre-schoolers, I had to decline.  “I’ll actually be moving to Ukraine on June 18th.”  That sort of ends the discussion.

Door-to-door satellite t.v. salesman: It looks like you’ve got a prime location for a satellite here.  And I’ve got some really good deals.

Me: That’s great, but I’m moving soon.

Salesman: That’s no problem; we can move the satellite across town.

Me: I’m actually moving to Ukraine.

Salesman: Oh.

(He slowly backs away.)

Salesman: I don’t think we have service there.

And there was the the time a (really very wonderful) non-profit called to see if I had more time to volunteer in the next year.  “I’ll actually be in Ukraine this next year.”

I bet that’s not one they hear every day.

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

