Insomnia-prompted musings on time zones

I think it’s a robin that’s singing right now.  It reminds me of the summer I woke up at 4:30am several days a week to go to work at a bakery.  That singing reminded me that it was not, as it seemed, the middle of the night, and I was not alone in being up at that time.

I am up now (a little before 5am) because of illness.  One too many late night caught up with me, I think.  I just tend to feel more productive after 11pm these days.  A few nights ago, I stayed up until 3 cleaning the kitchen.  I’m not sure why – I’ve never been this way before.  And it’s mildly problematic, because if my insomnia doesn’t change directions, my jet lag when I arrive in Budapest will be even worse.  Hungary is 6 hours ahead of us here.  Transcarpathian Ukraine is a little schizophrenic in it’s time zone affiliation – a remnant of communist times – but whatever time it could be, staying up to midnight here is like staying up until 6 or 7 in the morning there.  I really need to reverse my pattern and start going to bed earlier.

So maybe it’s a good thing I’m awake at 5 in the morning.  Maybe I should do it more often.  I’m not sure the bird song is much incentive, thought.  My time zone adjustment may have to wait for a Ukrainian sunrise.  Until then, I’ll have to deal with my own schizophrenic time zones.

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

