If you’re trying to trace me on a map this summer:

This morning I’m making lists of common occupations – doctor, farmer, musician – to use as teaching tools with my summer students.  Unfortunately, I can’t remember any of the Hungarian equivalents (except for doctor – doktor – that one’s pretty complicated), so I’ll have to have a meeting with my Magyarul-Angolul dictionary.

My students this summer will be at English camps run by Ars Longa in three different locations – Péterfalva, outside of Budapest, and Southern Hungary.  Teaching at these camps will take up the first month of my time in Europe, and I’m excited to get to know the students in Péterfalva, meet the teachers with whom I’ll be working, and return to Southern Hungary to explore that area some more.  All of us will be helping with lessons and activities, but my specific task is theatre.  The kids and I will be working on Bible skits in English to help them with their confidence and pronunciation, and at the end of the camps, we’ll preform them all for everyone.

After the English camps, I’m off to Taizé, an ecumenical monastery in southern France, where I’ll be staying for a little over a month.  (Also, for a few days I’ll be in Paris seeing the sights and in Tours visiting some acquaintances.  I guess I’m just trying to get it all in.)

It’s going to be an interesting summer.  I’ll be jumping to place to place, carrying as little luggage as possible.  I won’t have consistent access to a washer and dryer, so hand-washing and line drying will be the norm.  (Luckily, I’ve had practice at my own house this year with washer- and dryer-less-ness.)  I will not be a vegetarian this summer, or this next year, for that matter.  I’ve been asking my French-speaking roommates to help me pronounce things.  My access to the internet will be extremely limited, though I will do my best to let everyone know I have arrived from location to location safely.

September will find me back in Péterfalva, ready to start the school year and figure out how to share my native language with others.  (A friend of mine just asked me a grammar question and I didn’t know the answer … I know what I’m going to be reading in the airport … )

Those are my summer plans.  But if there is one thing traveling (especially in France) has taught me, it is flexibility.  You never know just how things are going to work.  But this is the plan.

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

