This post is mostly about ducks.

In the previous post, I discuss the need to be flexible while traveling.  This, oh trio of The Fates, was not an invitation to test my flexibility!

My flight to Chicago was cancelled, and now everything has been pushed back to Sunday.  I had finally gotten everything into my carry-ons.  I had said my sad goodbyes and tempered them with anticipation of reunion.  I was sitting patiently in the terminal.  The emails had been sent, my things condensed, and all my ducks were in a row.

My ducks are now an amoeba.  No rows.

But it’s ok.  Because an amoeba is a shape of endless possibility, right?

So it’s back to vacation with my family and the Evanston clan – a group of life-long friends from my mother’s seminary days.  I left the vacation early to make this trip.  Now I’ll be leaving at the same time they do.

Even in this delay, the connections that sustain me are revealed.  I had to call my friend LaSheena to get my brother’s cell-phone number to call him to get the number where my parents are staying to call them.  (Rural Tennessee is short on cell service, and I hadn’t memorized the number of our lake house.)  And while I don’t look forward giving that one last hug all over again, the time spent with those I love can fill me with extra energy.  And maybe I’ll even get some more lesson planning in.

This is my test.  Nothing is going to be handed to me.  Life is messy, and traveling is no exception.  This is my chance to practice grace, patience, a sense of humor, and a little duck corralling.

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

