Balaton Gulyas

Lake Balaton – the Hungarian vacation destination

We came here to rest between camps, and it was glorious to sleep in as long as we wanted.  It got up to 32-34 degrees celcius, so we welcomed  the breeze off the lake.  We cooked our meals outside in the shade of the little “kitchen” off the side of the building – a wooden lean-to reminiscent of playhouse days.

Hightlight of Balaton (for me):  Gulyas dinner.  A young man from the village came to the hostel and spent the better part of a day chopping up vegetables and cooking meat in a huge … cauldron … over the fire-pit.  It wasn’t ready until after 8, and for 1000 forints each (that’s about 5 dollars), we could have all we could eat.

This was, without a doubt, the best gulyas I have ever tasted.  The hostel manager says this is because it was cooked over an open fire.  It was so rich and flavourful and … mmmmm … now my bread and nutella breakfast doesn’t seem like enough food …

So Daddy … if you’re still  looking for the world’s greatest gulyas, I think I found it.

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Balaton Gulyas

  1. Jon Hart says:

    Q —

    I’m there! (…with my spoon and appetite)
    Lake + gulyas = beyond awesome.

    Love you!
    D

  2. Jon Hart says:

    “Your comment is awaiting moderation. ”

    After I posted my comment this phrase came up where I thought my comment would be. I was confused because I read it as:
    “Your comment is awaiting modernization.”
    Oops!

Leave a Reply

