Return

I’m not sure, but I think the boys might playing pranks on the girls right now.   Perhaps this is a student rite-of-passage for the beginning of the year.  Perhaps they’re just exhausting their summer energy.  I’m not sure.  What I do know is that there is a lot of playful screaming coming from the hall.

I’m in the English classroom at the Péterfalva school, wading my way through the floodwaters of emails which come when one does not have good internet access for 6 weeks.  I’ve been at it for several days now, actually; the stops along my travels here often had internet access.

I took the scenic route from Budapest to Péterfalva.  After landing in Budapest from Paris, I stayed in Budapest for one night at a guest room in a senior citizen mission home.  I was able to meet up with Professor Michael Page and Leighanne, SarahJean, Branden, and Tanya – students from Calvin on the Hungary semester abroad.  We ate dinner at the hummus bar (oh, how I love falafel), and I practiced navigating a large city + suburbs when the directions have only been explained to me in Hungarian.

The next day – a new day, and new location.  Robbie, a pastor who works with Ars Longa, drove me to his house in a village outside of Sarospatak, over on the Eastern side of Hungary.  I spent the next 18 hours with his family: his wife Klara, who also teaches English, and his three young daughters, who have infectious giggles and enjoy eating tejföl with sugar on bread before going to bed.  They live in a delighful old house, and Klara and I spent a good deal of time in the cozy kitchen discussing teaching methods.

The next morning, after a lot of tea and peaches, off to Ukraine with David.  But first to his house, for lunch, during which time I met his wondeful wife Anna and two American girls teaching English in Sarospatak.

It was at this point that I realized I had not reached my usual saturation point when it comes to meeting new people.  God has the power to expand our limits and grow in us deeper and deeper space for loving people.  This is something I came to realize while I was at Taizé, as I slowly opened to the depth of each person and learned our connectedness.  I will write more about Taizé soon.

David and I drove into Ukaine, but he had a meeting first with some funders, and we didn’t pull into the courtyard of the Péterfalva school until about 9.

But I am here.

The noises in the hallway have died down.   I think they’ve all gone back to their dormitories.  I probably should as well.  I haven’t done much today, but not doing much in one’s new home is tiring enough.

Jó ejszakat!  Good night.

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Return

  1. Jon Hart says:

    She’s BACK!!!

  2. Pingback: Visiting – the other end of things | transcarpathian sojourner

Leave a Reply

