Things I’m still learning how to do:

1) Using my teeth to cut scotch tape.  The only scissors I have are a tiny, doll-sized variety that came in my travel sewing kit, and they are not equipped for tape-cutting.  So teeth it is.

The second most uncomfortable-while -remaining-undangerous feeling in the world: scotch tape stuck on your teeth.  (The first is putting on damp clothes while still damp yourself.)

2) Effectively dodging mud.  For days after it rains, the entirety of Kossuth street is mud.  Most days I don’t try anymore, but on Sunday when I’m wearing my nice (er) church shoes …

3) Politely refusing 2nd, 3rd, 4th helpings when I don’t have anymore space in my stomach.  There’s only so much fried bread I can eat.  Another instance:

These beautiful grapes and tasty apples were given to me by the porter one morning, and I’ve been munching away ever since, but the school was closed at the time, so I had no one to share them with.  It is humanly impossible to eat this much fruit before it spoils.

4) Arriving at the post office when it’s actually open.  The hours are posted in Ukrainian, and my attempts at learning Cyrillic have currently gotten only as far as making flashcards.  I think I discovered today that they are in fact not open from 12 to 1 some days but rather taking a lunch break at this time.  I sent my letter while the women behind the counter were clinking their bowls and spoons.

5) Taking showers.  The European-style shower’s shower-head is not fixed on the wall but attached to a long hose.  There may or may not be a hook on which to hang the shower-head if you so desire.  Well, I so desire, and there is indeed a hook in my shower, but it’s placed in such a way that if I hung the shower-head on it, water would going spewing everywhere.  Water tends to get everywhere anyway, though, because I haven’t mastered washing my hair while holding onto the hose …

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Things I’m still learning how to do:

  1. Emily Kathman says:

    It finally occured to me that I could, indeed, specify which of the Emilys I am.
    You write so very beautifully, Cassidhe. I have spent the past hour reading of your adventures/ordinary days. Huzzah!
    Also: super glue-on-teeth is a decidedly unpleasant feeling. Possibly worse than scotch tape.

  2. Oh, my goodness, oh my goodness. Super glue. How ever did that occur?

  3. P.s.
    I have a friend who who has super glued her fingers together.

    Twice.

    (Oh, Carina!)

  4. Emily Kathman says:

    Well, you know how sometimes the tips of glue bottles get all congealed with dried glue? I was trying to un-clog a bottle of super glue, not thinking that once I did indeed get it open, then glue would spurt out. Onto my teeth. I almost glue my lips together, too.
    Silly epoxies.
    Which, by the way, is a very commonly used word, according to Mensa puzzles. Epoxy. This greatly confused Colin and I. I do not believe I have ever used that word more than once in a given month’s worth of conversation.

  5. I had to look up epoxy. Obviously not a commonly used word for those outside of Mensa.
    Also, while I’m terribly sorry that you got superglue on your teeth and it would have been nearly tragic to have superglued your lips … there is a very terrible part of me that wishes you actually had glued your lips together – simply because it would be the funniest story I’ve heard …. maybe ever …

  6. Jon Hart says:

    I’ve taken care of a number of folks who glued their eyes shut.

  7. My stomach hurts from laughing so much.

  8. Pingback: Let it snow! (Just so long as it doesn’t rain.) | transcarpathian sojourner

Leave a Reply

