Visiting – one end of things

I’m a little behind on my blogging.  And my journaling.  And my letter-writing.  I have not yet mastered maintaining good writing habits while being socially busy.  And socially busy I have been.

About two weeks ago, I received my first visitors in Ukraine.  Granted, they weren’t properly “mine.”  The Calvin students studying in Budapest came to Transcarpathia as part of their curriculum, but they stayed in the Reformed church guest house just across the street from my school, and I was the one to let them into their rooms at 1am on Saturday morning, so it felt as though they had come expressly to see me.  (Among them were Leighanne and SarahJean of Paper Cranes and Silver Rings fame, and they write about their Ukrainian travels here and here.)

Saturday afternoon, the Calvin students met my Péterfalva students through a series of activities I had planned for them.  And here are some pictures I took while skulking about making sure my plans were bearing fruit.  The laughter and smiles was all the proof I needed.


“Getting to know you, getting to know all about you …” Some conversation starters.  And Branden is definitely rockin’ that hat.

One of their tasks was to create a useful machine with their bodies.  I think this one was a pop can opening machine.

Sometimes when you yell the word “Knight!” this is what happens.  The game of Princess, Knight, Rider – something not easily explained without visual aids.

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in Péterfalva, teaching, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

