how to live alone well – installment one

1) don’t take yourself too seriously

[I sent this email to my sister today because we both were in need of something to celebrate, and it just so happened to be 6 months away from our annual fairy celebration.]

Happy Half Fairy Tide!
In honor of the holiday, I went fairy hunting about my room, and I found the abode of which the attached pictures speak.


Here you can see the entirety of this fair(y) establishment.  Its construction would suggest House Fairy, of the “New” variety.  Ancestral House Fairies most often live in old, well-secluded and carefully constructed homes, usually a hidden nook in a cabinet or an easily accessible hole in the wall.  “New” House Fairies, so-called even if they have been living in the house for decades or sometimes centuries, don’t have the benefit of these sought-after and hard-to-come-by homes.  Instead, they often live in tents like this one, ready to fly to another location if they suspect their hideout will be discovered.  Hopefully I haven’t caused this one too much trouble.  The fairy itself seemed to be away from home at the time.


All House Fairies, of the New and Ancestral varieties, enjoy human trinkets to a degree not seen in Garden or Forest Fairies.  You can see here how this fairy has decorated the tent.  I had wondered where that necklace was … I think I will leave it there for now.


A matchbox bed and jewelry clock compose the bedroom.


Here is displayed a handy perk of a matchbox bed: extra storage space.


This picture gives a good view of the small garden outside the tent.  Once again, this is an excellent example of the human-non-natural-world tendencies of House Fairies.  House Fairies have learned to cultivate metal for a variety of purposes.  Also in this picture are shown the spool-and-lid table, the shell stools, and the shell dish.

In my search throughout the house, I couldn’t find any clue as to the identity of this fairy.  It’s a well-known fact that House Fairies are much more secretive than outdoor Fairies.  My only guess is that it could have something to do with the sea?

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in just for fun, living alone, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to how to live alone well – installment one

  1. Caroline says:

    This is seriously one of the most darling things I’ve seen in a good long while. You make me smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

