The Carpathians

The sunny days of this week brought the mountains back into the picture.  I remember waking up on a somewhat misty morning, not noticing anything particular until the sun had been up long enough to burn off some of the clouds.  I walked back to my room after breakfast, and there they were again.  Sometime while I was slathering margarine on bread, the mountains walked back from their January hibernation.

(I’m making the pictures in this post particularly big because I want to share with you how present these mountains are.  But pictures don’t really convey it anyway.)

The above is what I can see from the doorway of the dormitory.  The crazy thing is that when the mountains are obscured, the space behind this house looks like it goes on forever with no possibility for mountains anywhere.  It’s also worth noting that this mountain is not as close as it looks.  I’m a terrible judge of anything that measures the space-time continuum, but I do know that it takes about a half hour/45 minutes to drive to their base.

On the walkway from the kitchen to the dormitory, I can see patches of the mountain chain, but buildings and trees obscure the view.  At the beginning of the week, these almost-invisible views were downright tantalizing.  Beyond the lower mountains were a few shreds of snowy peaks, radiantly clear in all that sunlight.  But I couldn’t get a good view of them from the school compound.  So one afternoon I took off down the northbound road hoping that I would find a more unobstructed view.  On a whim I turned down a dirt track.  My whim was rewarded.

It was soooo much cooler than this.

The muddy, rutted track led to several fields and afforded the best view I’ve yet found of this long string of mountains.  (Well, once I walked down the dyke several kilometres and found an even better one, where I could see the individual folds of this chain as well as blue outlines of a more northern chain.  But I don’t always have the time to walk that far.  And left-over floodwaters have made the dyke hard to get to.)  I found another hidden track running parallel to the mountains, and I followed it for a while.  The way to the floodplain pasture may have been supplanted as my favorite place to walk.

A large part of me has always liked watching the light change in the east better than watching the actual sunset. (Yes, that’s my shadow.  It proves I was there.)

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in mountains, Péterfalva, photography, snow, walking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

