how to live alone well – installment three

4) watch BBC miniseries like there’s no tomorrow

What do The Way We Live Now, David Copperfield, The Old Curiosity Shop, Domby and Son, Jane Eyre, North and South, and Bleak House all have in common?

For starters, they are all originally novels.  The are also all set in 19th century England. And I have watched each of them while here in Ukraine.  My favorite is probably Bleak House, though I could listen to North and South‘s soundtrack for hours and the characters in David Copperfield were expertly played.  If you do watch Bleak House (and I highly recommend that you do) and you know you’ve seen Mr. Jarndyce before but can’t quite place him, try the original Star Wars movies and a character whose code name is Red Leader in the final battle …

5) change up your music listening habits

How I normally listen to music: one album at a time, straight through, concentration intense towards the beginning of the album and tapering off towards the end, not because of any lacking musical quality because of my own pitiful and waning attention.

How I’ve been listening to music since Advent: 1) I type words – like peace or run or come – into the search box in iTunes and listen to the songs that come up; 2) I pick a theme, like Epiphany or a slow-coming spring, and create a playlist.  I still think the best way to appreciate music is to listen to the album all the way through – how many stories these songs tell – but I am forced to hear the individual songs in different ways when there is something new tying all of them together.

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in living alone, miniseries, music, stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to how to live alone well – installment three

  1. Caroline says:

    Yeaaaahhhhh….#4 is basically my life. Okay, not my whole life. But definitely a sizable portion of it. It is most certainly a staple of living alone.

    I tend to drink tea and bake scones when I watch mine. Then I walk through my apartment, talking to myself in an English accent.

    It’s the truth.

  2. I’m so glad there are other people who talk to themselves in English/British accents.
    And even more glad that they are willing to admit it.

Leave a Reply

