Some ways I’ve been keeping busy

Spring doesn’t just change the trees (oh, how I love that new baby green) and the flowers and the slant of the sunlight (or the length of sunlight).  It changes the bones of the earth.  Every chance I get, and when the weather is nice (and sometimes even when it isn’t), I’ve been walking out in spider web directions, trying to catch every change of every path of earth.  Of course that’s impossible.  But that’s what makes seasons like Fall and Spring so intoxicating – nothing is the same for even a minute, and knowledge that you can’t capture any of it helps you enjoy the present moment.

                          

                      

The fruit trees have been having a field day.  Or an orchard day.  Whatever.  I have been anticipating their opening since I first arrived in Transcarpathia.  I noticed all those fruit-laden trees and thought, “How lovely this will be in the spring.”  I wish I could show you how beautiful it turned out to be.  Even if I tried to take pictures on my bus rides to Beregszász through the orchard-rich hills, that simple machine could not bring you the light on the pink blossoms or the endless rows of white or the way the bold and subtle varieties of green mix in with wild flowers on the slopes.  Nor could it bring you the way my heart skips just typing that.

The main park in Beregszász is filled with cherry trees, too.

And a few other Beregszász pictures:

I’ve been teaching a theatre lesson at the Gymnászium in Beregszász, and one evening my little actresses invited me to play a baseball-like game with the students the next week.  Luckily for all for all of us, the weather was smiling, and as we walked across town to the sports pitch, I chatted with Fruzsi, the most engaging of all the girls.

The game’s rules were different enough from baseball that I had to focus very carefully during the instructions.  (Some of the students would offer me occasional translations of the words they knew, but that didn’t really help because all the words they know in English are about the same as the words I know in Hungarian; we’re on the same level.)  The two main differences are thus:

1) There are more than three bases.  In fact, I don’t think it matters how many bases there are.  I think we had about 7, and all of them were marked by smashed 2 liter bottles the boys picked up from the dumpster near by.

2) More than one person is permitted be on one base at a time.  It’s encouraged.  You can have half your team waiting out there on various bases until your home-run hitter comes up to bat them all in.  This is a true “bases are loaded” situation.  And when it’s time to run … the collected teammates spring from one base to another as if in a chaotic foot race.  Or as if they are a herd of elephants.  There were bigger groups than the one I managed to capture in this picture, but I think it gives you the idea.

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in Beregszasz, change, photography, sports, spring, walking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some ways I’ve been keeping busy

  1. Kathie says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun!

  2. Jon Hart says:

    Why is there an Omega symbol above the arched window in the second Beregszasz picture?

  3. Daddy,
    I’m pretty sure there used to be a decoration there – in some sort of arch shape – and since it has long crumbled, they filled in the holes with concrete. Szabina told me they had been planning to restore the building, but I think they ran out of money. Hense the concrete omega-looking symbol.

Leave a Reply

