On the death of Osama bin Laden

This man, speaking over 50 years ago, said it better than I can:

“Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”
– Martin Luther King, Jr.

[note: this has been edited to reflect some information I discovered here]

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in death, news, Osama bin Laden, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On the death of Osama bin Laden

  1. Kathie says:

    Amen.

  2. Jon Hart says:

    I wish I’d thought of this quote yesterday while I was defending my sadness at the news and the response of US citizens to the news of the killing. Trying to help people understand my position, all I could come up with was, “while I may feel a sense of relief at his death, I certainly don’t take pleasure in it. Even if we choose to not mourn his death, there is still someone out there whose grandfather is now dead. I am sad for that person.” In reality, I am sad for ObL as well, because so much of his life was spent hating. He missed the point of life, in my opinion. Apparently there is a great throng in the US that also misses the point.

    The only alteration I might make to Dr. King’s statement is to say., ” I will not rejoice in the killing of one” rather than “I will not rejoice in the death of one.” Though death always carries with it an element of sadness and loss, there have been times when I have rejoiced at a death, albeit without waving flags, jumping and shouting. My rejoicing in the deaths of my grandmothers was more subdued, but based on knowing they were no longer in pain, having gained their celestial comfort.

  3. Jon Hart says:

    I obviously have not mastered the art of HTML tags.

  4. Jon Hart says:

    OK. So it’s Ms. Dovey’s sentence that I would alter.

  5. Yes. I feel bad to have not done my research on that one … it did seem a bit TOO timely … but kudos to Ms. Dovey for saying something that resonated with so many.

  6. Jon Hart says:

    Actually, her part of the quote is Biblical — “Say to them, ‘As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign LORD, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn from their ways and live.” Ezekiel 33.11

    So, though MLK didn’t actually say the sentence she wrote expressing her own thought, it resonates with the source of MLK’s inspiration.

    Also, the whole quotation thing emphasizes one of the dangers of the social media.

  7. Emily Kathman says:

    I couldn’t agree more. Today on the front page of The Herald Times was a picture of several young men celebrating the death of Osama bin Laden at a bar. All were wearing patriotic clothing and grins. It was a mite unsettling.

Leave a Reply

