So this is why I haven’t written

Currently my Dad and brother are visiting me.  This is how I feel about that:

 

 These next few weeks are filled with comings and goings and endings and beginnings, so we will see how regularly I am able to maintain this blog.  School ends next week, my friend Kathleen will join me for a trip to Croatia, we’ll have English Camp in Péterfalva … and in 6 very short weeks, I will find myself on the other side of the ocean, for good.  (For now.)

On Friday, the second-year students were the only ones left in the school for the weekend, and we all went on a short excursion to the river to roast bacon, skip rocks, and sit around the fire.  The weather was a mite uncooperative, so we also spent some time with our blankets over a heads, waiting for a rain shower to pass.  It was at this time that my hiding-under-the-blanket companions taught me how to eat un-shelled sunflower seeds.  People here eat them the way we eat popcorn in the US.  The seed hulls litter the sidewalks, I hear their crunchiness while we watch movies, and they are most certainly a necessity for a river outing.  I tried eating them early on in my stay, but I found that the work necessary to get the hull open was disproportionate to the reward of the seed.  Cleary I didn’t know the proper technique.  It’s still a difficult process for me, but I’m improving, and maybe one of these days you’ll see me eating sunflower seeds like the rest of them.  I’ll be sitting on a bench on the sidewalk outside my gate, watching the sun move across the sky as I crunch and chew and scatter.

About Cassidhe Hart

My favorite times of the year: when the weather is first cold enough to put socks on and when the weather is first warm enough to take my socks off.
This entry was posted in family, Hungarian traditions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So this is why I haven’t written

  1. Emily K says:

    Very excited for when you return, Cassidhe! I hope these next six weeks are glorious for you. They sound busy, in an enthralling and wonderful kind of way.

Leave a Reply

